Poem A Day #28 (Prince Charming *Throwback*)

Posted: September 30, 2010 in Old Poetry, Poetry, September Poem A Day Challenge
Tags: , , , ,

See the problem is
You want Prince Charming
But that aint me
No sword glittering at the hilt
no trusty steed
If you had to name me
How about the Prince of Imperfection
The prince who sometimes looks at other girls and gets an erection
The prince who lies through his teeth though I said to you I never could
The prince who cries in his sleep though admit it I never would
The prince who sometimes tells you exactly what you want to hear
to preserve the false reality that you’ve been holding dear
The prince of break ups and heart breaks
The prince of make ups and heart aches
The prince
who you told to wait

So I wait
patiently at times
though you can sometimes see my frustration hidden in my rhymes
cuz this prince is imperfect as I said
and though patience is a virtue its not whats running through my head

Cuz I dont want us to make a love story
I want it to be a love epic
A never ending continuation of that first feeling of infatuation
that first moment that we got flirtateous
and the first time our lips were embracing
a repitition of sight smell and touch
page after page telling of our lust
or trust
our strive for perfection
and for our souls compass to point in the heavenly direction

All this courtesy of an imperfect prince
whose current cause is to get you completely convinced
not that Im the best man
Not that Im the only one
But that I will do all I can
to put you in a place better than when we first begun
and though now I admit Im not the charming prince you’re wishing for
You will see that I fit that profile just a little bit more
and while you’re patient prince is waiting for you to to pick all the pieces off the floor
This imperfect prince is anxious, ready, and waiting to help rebuild
and is knocking at your door

Leave a Reply

