Poem a Day #7 (Secrets)

Posted: September 7, 2010 in New Poetry, Poetry, September Poem A Day Challenge
Tags: , , ,

Do you know my secrets?

Shame

Because I know yours so well

But like Alicia keys I promised that I would never tell

Is it cruel for me

To know the complete

Utter

Dark essence of the things you keep inside

While the truth of my life I continue to successfully hide

The liar in me

Has an even darker side

Called the truth

But by a code of silence he has chosen to abide

Sworn to keep your dark deeds hidden even after your body turns cold

Though everyone has a price

my loyalties will not be bought or sold

Even unbeknownst to you

I know

All The things that hide

Behind the blackness of your iris

down past the

farthest reaches of your tormented soul

struggling to stay alive while their truth remains untold

But they are alive in me

And when I lay me down to sleep

I pray I may never be that bold

For I am but a broken vessel

But oh

oh the things I hold

To one day crack

and let flood the world the understanding of these things darker than coal

but more precious to you than all of King Midas’ gold

For the sandman speaks to me

and confesses

The dreams which he sprinkles into your eyes while your thoughts sit open wide

and your mind undresses

He reveals to me the darkest corners in your crypt where the skeletons have chosen to hide

and mapped out those hidden recesses

And to chip

To leak

For me To spring forth a drop of the truth that I’ve been told

Pray to God

Pray to me

That I may never be that bold

Comments
  1. Jingle says:

    beautiful job!

    simply but powerful!

  2. Jingle says:

    Welcome to our Poets Rally…
    🙂

Leave a Reply

