Poem A Day #3 (My Pen)

Posted: September 3, 2010 in New Poetry, Poetry, September Poem A Day Challenge
Tags: , , , ,

Theres 5 half filled pages

at various stages

on my desk

And im wondering if I can

or will

ever stop writing?

Is it a gift

A curse

A sickness that im hiding

A disease that im fighting

Is it a demon

That strikes at my heart like lighting

Because at times I fear my writing

I fear my pens precipitation because I know its simply an

Incantation

Of my minds frustration

And sometimes my ink turns into an earthly

Manifestation

Its almost as if

I write code for the matrix

And everything I see can change

With one twist of my wrist

God

Why would endow me with a power like this

The power to change lives

And shape worlds with words that don’t even

Proceed from my lips

They tell me

Death and life lie in the power of the tongue

So if my lips are weapons

My pen must be a mightier one

And while you still fight battles with

Bullets and guns

I lay waste to souls

Before the war has begun

Deconstructing mindsets and misinterpretation

With the fluency of my flow

And the exacting of my enunciation

A gift

A curse

A weapon of choice

For my pen helps me find mine

While silencing your irrelevant voice

I have no need

To ever pick up a gun

But when you see me pick up my pen

I promise you better run

Comments
  1. Daja says:

    That was fire… I’m lovin the month of September!

  2. Jennifer says:

    That was fantastic! I love it. Keep it up, I look forward to the rest of the month!

  3. aseel says:

    Wowsers-none of ur poems hit me like this one. It’s real, the expression of power, not thru violence but thru ur pen&spoken art. I love it

Leave a Reply

