Those Who Can, Do…

Posted: July 31, 2010 in General, Other Writing, Poetry
Tags: , , ,

Is it possible to write 2 different books on different subjects at the same time?

Greetings dear readers.

I have returned from my short vacation and am not back in the familiar environment that is school and work. But today as an Idea for a story crossed my mind I wondered to myself, is it possible to write two books at the same time about different subjects?

When you think about it, a book takes a certain level of commitment, research, time and energy. Two books would no doubt then be twice the effort. So would 1 person who is already undertaking the time-consuming job of researching and preparing for one such project, successfully split his/her attention as to double the output without sacrificing quality.

I ask this question because today i had an idea for 2 stories which I could write, that would be absolutely from my point, and the only research required would be technical aspects. But as I’m already trying to pursue one project, would it be wise for me to start another before the current one is totally finished? I for one am always up for a challenge but I think this would even be a lot for me.

Perhaps I will just pen down the shells for the other project now and continue with what ive already been working on. I wouldn’t want to shift focus and lose any thought process I might have had. Or perhaps working on something else will just cause my creativity to flow more freely and improve my other projects. I’m not sure.

I’ll keep you posted…

Comments
  1. Jennifer says:

    I am one quite familiar with trying to pursue multiple projects simultaneously. It can be hard, your are correct. In my experience, they end up taking longer to finish, and at least one of them will end up lagging in some respect.
    I think your idea is worth a shot though. When it comes to writing, I think it’s best to follow your inspiration. Perhaps you might keep your main focus on your work already in progress, but when thoughts present themselves, follow your muse, and work on whatever is currently itching to flow out of your brain.
    Good luck! ^_^

Leave a Reply

