Workin Hard…

Posted: July 14, 2010 in General, Other Writing, Poetry
Tags: , , , ,

Good Morning Everyone.

Changed the set-up a little bit here. Tell me how you like it.

I have some good news and some bad news today. The good news is that I have about 5 new poems that I’ve written in the past week or so that I am both very excited about and very proud of. The bad news is that I can’t post them. At all. So for the time being you guys will not see them at all. Kinda sucks huh?

The reason I wont be posting these poems is because of what are called ‘First Rights’. First rights are basically a publisher’s right to print a persons work, exclusively. Its basically like the first copyright. When something gets published online (Facebook, WordPress, Blogspot, MyNameisTerrance.com), first rights rest with the person who put it up. So all the poems that I have posted on this blog, or on my Facebook, are considered published. Because of that, I cant submit them nearly anywhere because it would be considered a ‘reprint’, which most publications dont do. That is compounded by the fact that most publications shy away from poetry to begin with. So, what it all boils down to is that all my new work, or new best work, needs to be saved for possible submission. There is an article here that talks more about first rights for writers regarding blogs, and published work.

Now, this is not to say that anything I post from now on will not be quality work. Some of it just may be a re-post from my Facebook, and I will be a bit more selective about what I post here in comparison to what I save for publication. Remember, the goal is still publication; to get a book published. In order to do that I need to submit a good body of individual poems to other publications and increase my exposure. Its all about the writing.

Now, a preview of some of the places I will be submitting to.

Thanks to Robert Lee Brewer, editor of the POETIC ASIDES blog for Writer’s Digest (follow him on twitter @RobertLeeBrewer), and a few other poets and writer tags on Twitter, I have found a few eZines who publish poetry, as well as a few publishing company’s who take on a small volume of books per year. This also of course means that the competition will be ridiculously fierce, but it also means that I have to be that much better when I submit. A good challenge produces a great product.

Anywho, check out a few of these eZines which I will be submitting to. All of them have submission deadlines between now and December, so I have a bit of time to create more, but I also have a good amount to submit now for those with closer deadlines. Be on the lookout for “By Terrance Williams” under a poem or two in the not too distant future.

Hobble Creek Review

The Smoking Poet

The Glass Coin

Abyss & Apex

Be Blessed

Leave a Reply

