The Lune

Posted: July 7, 2010 in New Poetry, Poetry
Tags: , ,

Whats going on people.

Writers Digest Magazine has a section for poetry (of course), and the poetry editor Robert Lee Brewer (follow him on twitter @RobertLeeBrewer) runs a blog called Poetic Asides. He is also the editor of the book Poets Market. You may remember him from some earlier postings, but that’s neither here nor there

This month, Mr. Brewer has presented followers of the blog with a poetic form challenge, to write a Lune. A lune is a specific type of poem, sometimes referred to as the American Haiku. There are two types of lunes, The Kelly Lune and the Collom lune. Both contain 3 total lines, the Kelly lune with a syllable scheme of 5 in the first line, 3 in the second, and 5 in the 3rd. The Collom lune has a scheme of 3 words in the first line, 5 in the second, and 3 in the final line. Each lune form is named after the person who created it, Robert Kelly (not the pedophile one ), and Jack Collom.

Personally, as you can all probably tell, I prefer free verse poetry. But this seemed like a simple enough challenge so I decided to try my hand at it. I will more than likely start doing more prompts and contests, in an effort to expand my range of poetic skills.  Anyway, here’s my attempt at the Lune. Feel free to post your own in the comments, or post it here on the Poetic Asides blog page, in the comments section. And read other lunes, I saw some really good ones in there. There are some others here as well, on the Lune form explanation page. I especially like the one by Evelyn N. Alfred. But you gotta go find it. Cant make everything easy for ya.

Happy Writing

Kelly Lune

I’m rebuked daily
with the sun
can we keep the night

Collom Lune

I always dread
seeing you because I know
it cannot last

Comments
  1. Jennifer says:

    Cool. I kinda like this style, ‘d be good for some little “ditties” in my head. ^_^ Also, I read all those comments, and found the one you mentioned liking- I like it too. 🙂 The other ones that I particularly liked were a couple near the start actually about loons, haha, and the one about mint, and the white and purple stone, and the spider on a flower. ^_^ I think I like them cause that’s the kind of thing I’d write. Hmm, maybe I’ll try some when I need a little brain break at work today!
    Cheers mate, happy writting.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I did a combo set of lunes! Kelly-Collom-Kelly:

    GRE’s

    Damn. Physics problems.
    Killing brain.
    Endless struggles. Damn.

    Summer exam prep
    claims all my free time.
    Had better prevail.

    If score is too low,
    must re-take.
    Please, Lord, not again.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Another set! ^_^

    At Work

    Frustrated again:
    computer code
    won’t make desired plot.

    Graphs usually simple
    now present more problems than
    I can solve.

    Haha, I like this poetry outlet to describe my current frustrations. 🙂

    • haha, im glad you’re having so much fun with this form of poetry. I think I personally will start doing a Lune or two a day to challenge myself, or just simply a poem using something other than free verse every day. Keep this up you’ll be in my anthology!

  4. Tom says:

    Er… Seems you me you got one syllable too many in the first line of your Kelly Lune…

    My lover and I
    On our bed –
    The rest you can guess

    ;o)

Leave a Reply

