The Paradox, The Conundrum, The Lonely Actor

Posted: June 30, 2010 in Old Poetry, Poetry
Tags: , ,

Paradox: –noun 1. a statement or proposition that seems self-contradictory or absurd but in reality expresses a possible truth.

Conundrum: –noun 1. a riddle, the answer to which involves a pun or play on words

I have a paradox which has somewhat turned into a Conundrum.

Paradox: I want to post poetry my blog, but any poetry I post cannot be submitted to the eZine I found, which publishes a limited number of poetry books per year because they want ‘first rights’.

Conundrum: How do I post poetry to a poetry blog without automatically disqualifying it from publication.

The answer to my conundrum and paradox turns out to be post older work now, create new things, post some, submit the rest. So, the next few poems I post here will actually be poems which have made previous appearances on my Facebook, but they are still quality poems. The poem about to be posted now is one in a series of poems from the same perspective, and I am very fond of it. But dont worry, new work is in the works. Hold tight fans, the wait is almost over.

****

I the lonely actor

Stand solemnly on the stage

Beyond its lights I dare not cross

For in the darkness is a war I dare not wage

I am a prisoner

Self contained

Holding the keys to my own freedom

Since the coming of my age

I spread not my wings in an attempt to fly

But sing from within my cage

I the lonely actor

Tread silently about the floor

Staring only into the darkness

And not the opened door

I spread my dreams down at your feet

And ask you to walk as Jesus did

Have faith in what flows from my inspired brain

And save me if I sink instead of swim

Punish me not for bringing fire to man

It has been contained in my pen

For my lonely heart has already gone blind

Still I bend to its every whim

The parchment I ignite with words

More scorching than the sun

I have locked away from light of day

Before the play’s begun

I the lonely actor

Contain and conceal my inspired rage

So that that which could bring me freedom

Keeps me lonely upon the stage

Leave a Reply

