Tuesday Jam Session

Posted: June 29, 2010 in General, Music Reviews, News Stories, Other Writing
Tags: , ,

So to begin with, I have to shout out my friend Will McGrath (follow him on twitter @Ouill) for indirectly contributing to this blog entry. As promised I will be featuring another up and coming artist as my May entry did, but first;

SHE’S BACK!

Now I will admit that this may be pre-emptive and in fact over-confident.  There was a time about 2 or 3 years  ago when everyone was excited about a Fugees comeback. They released a song, and Lauryn released a song which was included at the end of the Shark Tale Movie if I remember correctly, and every hip-hop head got excited. She and Macey Gray actually both released singles which were included on movie soundtracks that years, but nothing much came of either. Regardless, both the Fugees, and a solo Lauryn return turned out to be smoke and mirrors.

So whats different now?

Well to begin with, we have this NPR Article by Zoe Chace. Zoe, as it seems, is one of those who was growing up at the time when Lauryn was hot. So around my age, albeit a bit older. When Mis-education dropped in 1998 I was 10, so my appreciation for the meaning behind the lyrics didn’t come until later although the enthusiasm for the music was still there. Now however, I can honestly say it remains one of my favorite albums to date.  In addition to this article however, we have performance dates. ACTUAL performance dates. Not rumors that she will be in a city for one night for one hour and never be heard from again for about 10 years. Performance dates such as Rock The Bells in DC, Chicago, New York, and other city’s as well.

Chance’s article of course doesn’t cover the rumors that fans have been hearing for years about the whereabouts of Ms. Hill. But why should it? The important thing is that we may once again have the woman who many looked at as something of a hip-hop savior in the booth once again. Nikki, sit down and watch a pro do it effortlessly.

And now, without further ado, Ladies and Gentleman I present to you Selah J Rauw. 19 year old Californian who may very well herself be on the way to do great things.

I first heard about Ms. Rauw through my good friend mentioned earlier, Will McGrath in one of his #FF (follow friday) shoutouts. (Follow her on Twitter @SelahJRauw). Later on when doing my profile of the beautiful and talented Ms. Gabrielle Baty (@GabrielleBaty), a comment was left on the blog also telling me to check out Ms. Rauw’s work. Well, while away at Airborne school I didn’t check out anything, so this morning was actually the first time I was exposed to any of her work. This is not to say I am rushing to put her into my blog or anything such as that, I had planned this for some time. That being said, my initial impression is I am impressed.

Selah has a style and a voice which immediately sound like a mix of Avril Levigne chords on her guitar, and Kerry Underwood/Natasha Beddingfield type vocals. And I mean that in a good way. A bit country, a bit pop, and a good mix of both.

I am especially impressed with the amount of original music that she has, as most times it seems artists today rely more on Covers and less on original work. Not that there is anything wrong with covers. Besides, she has a really great cover up right now anyway. However, as a writer/poet, I especially appreciate the work that goes into writing an original piece, so she gets major props for that.

What probably impressed me the most however, was the song she has called “Lemonade”, another original, which also features her playing the Ukulele! The sound of both the music and her voice, as well as the tone and rhythm of the song immediately reminded me of the Israel Kamakawiwo’ole version of “Somewhere over the Rainbow”. Love that song.

Like any hard-working, up-and-coming artist, she of course has a Myspace music page, and a Facebook fan page. Dont just take my word for it, check out her music. Check out any of these pages, but especially the YouTube page so you can hear the music that she is making.

Ladies and Gentlemen, the multi-talented Selah J Rauw

Comments
  1. Jennifer says:

    Oooh! I like her song Lemonade too! ^_^

Leave a Reply

