Back Again!

Posted: June 28, 2010 in General, News Stories, Other Writing
Tags: , , , ,

WOW!

It has literally been over a month since the last time I posted. This is not a good look! But better late than never, and I’m back now, so the past is the past.

Hopefully this week will see a post from me everyday. Im working on New Poetry so that I have enough to submit to The Smoking Poet, an eZine which I found and will discuss more later. I will be profiling 2 new artists; one who I know personally and another whom I have never met.  In addition I will also of course be bringing news stories, commentary, movie reviews, and all those things all of you know and love me for.   To begin with however, we will start with news, followed by personal achievement story.

Army. Airborne. McChrystal.

These are the three operative words for today’s post. We’re gonna start from the end and move forward. To begin with; McChrystal.

GEN Stanley McChrystal, 4 Star, Ranger, Special Forces, JSOC (Joint Special Operations Command) Commanding Officer, who has been in the army for 34 years, nearly long enough for two full careers is in the hot seat right now. He has gone from the top commander in the War in Afghanistan to the General no one wants to be seen with in a matter of days. Why? Because he let a reporter publish things which were probably not intended to be heard by anyone but his staff.

Rolling Stone Magazine reporter Michael Hastings interviewed the General in relation to his strategy in Afghanistan. No harm there. Right? Right. Unless the General begins to forget that a reporters job is to do just that, report. Therefore nothing said is off-limits, and nothing is off the record.

As a General, or even as a soldier in general, you are expected to show support for your leaders, and follow their commands and directives without question or pause UNLESS it will get someone killed or puts the lives of your troops in danger. No one should ever know your PERSONAL opinion about a higher up. That’s the way I understand it anyway. And after 34 years you would think he would know it as well.

To me, it appears that what happened was the reporter simply recorded comments that the General intended as jokes, and to be only for his staff, or for the people immediately in the room. I honestly don’t believe that he intended the American People to hear what he had to say about Obama and his staff being wimps. As always though, I leave it for you to decide. A long article, but a good general profile of the General as well. The fact that he still goes on foot patrols with his soldiers is also a huge indication of just what kind of soldier he is; a good one.

The article is here

AIRBORNE

Now, if you follow me on Twitter (@TMothaPhukinW), or are a friend of mine on Facebook then you surely saw my #tweetsfromAIRBORNE for 3 weeks. If you are not one of those people then heres the story.

For 3 weeks, I was in Ft. Benning, GA at the US Army Airborne School. Its a 3 week-long course culminating in making 5 successful jumps from a C-130 Hercules or C-17 Aircraft using a T-10Delta or T-11 parachute. Mouthful? Yes. Basically, I went to GA and learned how to jump out of planes and land correctly so I could walk off the drop zone. If you walk off the drop zone, you had a successful jump.

I will admit that Airborne is said to be one of the easiest schools the Army has to offer, but make no mistake, that does not mean that the training is a cake walk. Going to sleep at 11, waking up at 4am and doing physical work the entire day for 3 weeks will do something to you. And PLF’s (Parachute Landing Falls), I promise are no joke. But the mindset was, and always is that I won’t quit. The 3 weeks included Ground, Tower, and Jump weeks. Ground was mostly learning the correct way to land, which is the PLF. Tower week introduced the 34ft Tower, which in truth is harder to exit from than the plane actually is, and proper body position for the drift. Jump week is exactly what it sounds like. And when you finally get to Jump Week, everything you did before, the mental hazing and the Marines, early mornings, late nights, horrible food, keeping yourself from a single drink for 3 weeks (my personal struggle) all becomes worth it. Once you exit that aircraft and you float down, no noise, it’s all worth it.

I’m very proud of myself for completing that endeavor. It’s the first real Army training school I have ever attended, and I hope for many more to follow. My dad, who was also Airborne, came down to pin my wings on me. That was an important moment for me, and I appreciated it more than he probably knows.

Finally, the 265 Anniversary of the US Army just passed a few days ago. This is a simple Thank you to all the Men and Women in Uniform who are out there serving, fighting, and sacrificing so that we can enjoy the lives that we live here in this country. One day I will join you, but until then you are simply paving the way for me when I get there.

Now go hug a soldier and tell him Thank You.

Comments
  1. Linda says:

    Very interesting blog.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Wow, Terrance. Good to read something from you again. Congrats on getting your wings! That was quite the article…I think I’m still kind of absorbing it. I’ve never read anything like that before. It’s kind of an eye-opener, especially for someone like me who’s been tuning out “the real world” and the war as much as possible since Obama took office.

  3. Did you get a chance to listen to Selah J Rauw’s song 60 Days? It’s about her guy who is 82nd Airborne, now serving in Afghanistan. She wrote the song after his Christmas leave back to BASIC. He completed the Airborne School as well. I think Selah’s story would make a great movie. Soldier goes off to war while his girlfriend becomes a famous Musician. Selah has one of the biggest producers working with her right now by the name of Matt Rollings. Would you like to write another blog or start the screenplay? I really like the way you write. Check out Matt’s credits and you will see what I am talking about. Selah needs more press, because there is more to the story. Maybe you can help me out! Thanks so much for the music review on Tuesday Jam Session. That was a stellar review and Selah was really blessed by your words! We are sharing the blog via her FB and Twitter Acct.s Congrats on getting through Airborne school!

    • First off, thank you. Secondly, I did in fact hear that song and I enjoyed it as well. It was rather ironic hearing the story she told before she began the song because a lot of the guys I went through AB school with had just finished basic at Ft. Benning, so I know exactly where she was referring to and everything.
      I must tell you I have never written a screenplay before, but I am definitely willing to try. I will be contacting you soon.

      • Yeah, I am sure you and many others can relate to 60 days. Funny because in almost exactly 60 Days he is scheduled to come home from Afghanistan. It’s almost been one year since he left for the Middle East. I think that is worthy of another blog. If you ever want to write on their separation and how she has coped with having Josh over there, I am sure she would love to share her story. Josh happens to be her best friend and she never really wanted him to join the army, but he really wanted to experience the military. Many of her songs are written from the pain of having him on the other side of the world and being on the front lines. She struggles to keep the relationship alive with her music. It has not been easy for either of them to be separated. She has buried herself in songwriting, singing, recording, etc. and made her way to becoming locally famous, as well us, be found by a major producer. It’s funny because, Josh’s army buddies have told him all along that she would dump him because he was a nobody in the army and they thought she would become famous. I guess it was drilled into his head and all the other troops to expect girlfriends to leave while deployed. The bond between them has only grown stronger and he has a reason to fight for his life. Luckily his active duty contract expires March 2011. This will be his only deployment. That recording of 60 Days was written and recorded the same day she said goodbye and left him at the airport to fly back to Georgia to finish BASIC. That is what she had to do to get through Day 1. Maybe she needs to write a welcome home soldier song…Maybe I will suggest that!

  4. Let me know when you read my recent comment! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

