Promise in the Dark

Posted: April 26, 2010 in New Poetry, Poetry

A promise in the dark

A shot at what you keep hidden from me because you don’t realize all I really wanted was your heart

You’re playin for keeps but I’m playing for the nature of you

So I come unarmed to the fight where you bring knives and guns and I stand unsure what to do

If u were standing in from of me and I said come here would you ask questions or just realize that I want you closer than close

If I told you how I feel when the lights go down low and the night sounds disappear would you consider me or tell me that I’m doing the most

With my soul at your feet do you tread softly over my dreams or suit up and boot up as if thorns reach to ensnare you

The truth of the matter is and always will be that I care for you

But you have been blinded over the years by the uncaring self serving actions of the few and no longer stand receptive to the love that you need

So the melody that I speak softly into your dreams sounds as indistinguishable as the cacophony that once made your ears bleed

Indeed, there’s an appeal to the process of taking your broken heart and helping you rebuild

But truly my agenda is nothing more than to lead you softly by the hand down the road to helping you heal

I promise it’s real

I come to your unrestrained unchained disarmed and unprotected

Trying to make sure that any disdain you feel isn’t misdirected

Not so long ago it happened this way

I was the man you hated and not the man you see today

Though it wasn’t you it was a you with another name

The characters were different but the story was the same

And today while I stand here telling you I’ve changed

You can’t seem to make yourself believe that someone with such a past isn’t just emotionally deranged

Talking out my ass so I can get that second chance

Not truly considering the dark truth in my past

But the truth is that after long nights alone with my thoughts and the cold fingers of loneliness running across my brow

All the thinking and wondering and regretting have led me to where I stand now

Standing before you with my sole laid bare like an empty bench in the park

Telling you

Assuring you

That I will stand true to what we say here

My promise in the dark

Comments
  1. I enjoyed this. Trust issues run deep and you captured the repercussions of them well. Thank you.

    Take care,
    Jess

  2. Nikayla says:

    I LOVE this!! def made top 4

    “Though it wasn’t you it was a you with another name/ The characters were different but the story was the same” — that is SO real and I LOVE the way you said it!

    You Sir are simply Amazing

  3. Aseel says:

    This is real. It’s what a lot of men these days claim to be. “Changed”. You ARE changed. This is the real thing, not a fake pity for a second chance. “But the truth is that after long nights alone with my thoughts and the cold fingers of loneliness running across my brow//All the thinking and wondering and regretting have led me to where I stand now”. I love it, keep up the great work. Looking forward to more poetry.

  4. Shenay shell says:

    love it…punk…jus cause u can write dont mean u gettin it in..:) but beautiful as always

Leave a Reply

