Archive for April 3, 2010

I like kids Movies. I enjoy Dreamworks, Pixar, and Disney productions.

That being said, I expected to like “Dragons”, and I was not disappointed.

I will have to do a fact check later (Done), but I believe the voice of the main character is  Jay Baruchel, who was also in the recent release ‘She’s Out of My League’, also a very funny movie, and had a small roll in ‘Knocked Up’ which starred Seth Rogen a few years ago.  The entire knocked up crew has gone on to do more things with ever-increasing quality, so we hope to see more of them as well. Perhaps we will see a Tim Burton – Johnny Depp type collaboration style with Judd Apatow and these 5 or so actors which show up in his movies repeatedly.

But back to “Dragons”. The 3D experience was good. While I managed to slip out of paying the 3D price (which I will NOT discuss here), I still feel that it would have been worth the money.

The story is about the son of a heroic dragon hunting viking chief, Hiccup, who wants to be like his brave father Stoic. But he’s small, lanky, and unexceptional as a viking. When he gets a once in a lifetime chance to kill a dragon, he doesn’t take it, and instead learns from him. The knowledge that he gains changes him and his village and their war against Dragons.

It was a kids movie so you can’t expect blood, guts, gore, nudity, prostitution and sex. Although I do expect that when I go see Clash of the Titans later this week. However its a good story, and like all Disney/Pixar/Dreamworks productions it has a message for everyone under 12, or everyone over 12 who didn’t learn their lessons from The Lion King, Toy Story, or Cinderella.

Overall, I give it two thumbs up. 5 stars.  ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

All that good stuff. Go check it out.

*****

In other news. I am going to be attending a webinar on April 29th given by the editor of ‘Poets Market’ where he will discuss how to organize, collect, and get published a poetry collection. Blessing from above? I think so. A couple of people said that I probably don’t need it, or that I could probably find the information elsewhere for cheaper. $50 is a lot of money for an hour-long video after all. However, I want this to be done professionally. If at all possible, I want this project to be supported by a major, reputable, established publisher. While I would self publish if that were my only option, I would prefer not to. The goal of course is publication. And I have few illusions about getting famous from one book of poetry. I still remember very clearly what I have seen in relation to poetry publishers. 99% don’t do it, the ones who say they do are probably lying, and that means that if you can get it done then you have little chance for success.  At the same time however, I have been being blessed beyond measure in a lot of different ways lately, and I hope to continue that trend. Saying something can’t be done is really just a test for what my faith and my God can do.  I’m ready to take that leap. Lets see where I land.

I’ll keep you posted on events leading up to and including the webinar.

Peace and Love to you all.