Reconnect…

Posted: March 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

I was gonna say some things about “She’s Out of My League” and “Alice in Wonderland”.

I was gonna make some comments about the former Rep. Massa from New York and his ‘tickling’ scandal and how happy it made me to see that people from both sides of the aisle are finally effing up.

I was gonna make some comments about my first article being published in Human Events newspaper this past week.

All that can wait.

I have 7 brothers and sisters. One full sister who I’ve lived with all my life, 4 half brothers and 2 half sisters. Some of them I’ve never met. Some of them I havent seen since I was probably 11 or 12. Thats over 10 years.

My sister today called me and told me that she thinks she found one of our brothers on Facebook. I’m so excited it doesn’t even make sense right now.

Family is important to me, partially because mine is so big, but also partially because mine is so messed up. My dad has been married 4 times. First marriage my sister and I came. Second marriage he adopted one of the lady’s kids, but I’ve only met him and his sister once. They stayed in our house for a summer. Man, that was a crazy ass summer. Anyway, 3rd marriage, his wife adopted me and my sister. She’s my step mom, but she’s the mom I’ve known since I was 5 years old, and even if there was no ceremony I would still always call her mom. Now my dad is married again and his current wife has 5 kids.

Birth mom has been moving around and going ghost for years, so I might have more brothers and sisters now, but I don’t care. They’re still my family. But at the same time I feel like she kinda took away my opportunity to be a big brother.

When I go home and see my dad now, I get a slight opportunity, but I’m in college. The time that I’m at home is few and far between. At church when I’m at home too, lots of women with young kids let their kids call/think of me as their big brother, but it’s still not the same. Now, my brother is a college student. And the rest of them, I dunno. But still, the idea of just talking to him, seeing all my family again, its exciting.

I have to keep telling myself that it might not be him.. It might just be a coincidence, a fluke, something like that. But how could I not be excited right now? The idea of reconnecting with a long-lost sibling…im TOO geeked up right now.

Ha. Im starting to write like I text and tweet. Not a good look. The happy is starting to affect my brain already.

LoL 🙂

**UPDATE**

It was my little brother. HA. Through the grace of God and the power of Facebook, I have been able to reconnect with my little brother that I haven’t seen since I was around 10, and he was around 7. I cant wait to finally catch up with him and reconnect with that side of my family.

Comments
  1. wilsar says:

    Omg I love this poem. Its so cute. You already know that I ama big fan of yours.

Leave a Reply

