Language of Love

Posted: March 1, 2010 in New Poetry, Poetry

How do I love you?

Let me count the ways.

No

Lemme say it to you in a different language

In a different place everyday.

Let me wake you up to breakfast in bed

Cook you bacon and eggs

and say that I love you

While the American sun shines down on your head

Tomorrow we can eat Sushi in the middle of Tokyo

While 愛しています(Aishiteru) is displayed in lights where ever we go

Take a flight to South Korea and land in Seoul

Whisper당신을 사랑하는 (Sahrang Heyoh) in your ear as we take our garden stolls

We can make Egypt the next part of our trip

Show you that وأنا أحبك (Ana behibek) is tattooed on my heart like an Arabic hieroglyph

Before we go to Europe lets Stop for Safari in Ngorongoro, Tanzania

While I whisper Swahili nothings, baby ninakupenda, so only you can hear

In Italy you’d hear Ti Amo as we ride in our gandala down the waterways of Venice

Holding each other close until the daylight is finished

In German Ich Liebe Dich, or Minä rakastan sinua in Finnish

My words ring true around the globe, the meaning never diminished

Lets walk under the Eifle Tower so I can tell you Je T’aime

Or wait until we walk through the halls displaying the works of Monet

its Αγαπώ σας (S’agapo) when we visit the Colleseum in Greece

but its Я тебя люблю (Ya tebya liubliu) in Russia, where I think they say it the least

Travel to the birthplace of Picasso, check out the running of the Bulls

And know when I say Te Amo, theres no trick im trying to pull

No matter where we lay our heads

Or if the time zones don’t stay the same

I love you is what my heart is saying

Even if the languages change

I can tell you I lásku vám in Czechoslovakian, or I can say Anh ye^u em in Vietnam

Hum Tumhe Pyar Karte hae in Hindu, Szeretlek in Hungarian

Theres no limit to the number of languages I’ll use

To make sure you understand

But when its all said and done and our trip finally ends

Nothing in the world says the way I feel for you

The way I love you can

Leave a Reply

