Pre March Madness Poetry: The Liar in Me…

Posted: February 28, 2010 in New Poetry, Poetry

Everybody has a little deviance inside of them.  This is somewhat how I view mine.  This is my last poem as well before March Madness Poetry Month starts. Enjoy.

This is also the most recent poem that I have written, except the ones that were written specifically for March madness Poetry.  I have included my first and last writings, and now the new beginnings can begin.

**

The liar in me

Wants you to know that truthfully

Nothing I say is to be believed

I want it to be the truth when I say

That you mean the world to me

But the liar in me takes control before I can speak

Replaces my truth with his convoluted version of the same

So it becomes a game

Attempting to convince myself that the things I speak are falsified

So that behind my reworded truth my conscience can hide

Fooling myself into believing some version of my own lies

So that the words I speak can be believed in my own eyes

Wait

I think I just lied

But I cant be sure because the path walked by the truth isn’t that wide

And I cant tell any longer if ive fallen off or if Im still on the right side

Are the piecing daggers which proceed from my mouth pointed towards a foreign enemy

Or one that lives inside of me

And what is the beast that lives inside

Is he some monster from which stems all my lies

Or is he the truth battered bruised and struggling to stay alive

God please save me from my pride

I want to come clean and confess to things which you already know

Those that eat at me pierce like the thorns in your side

But I think the last piece of you inside of me might have died

Crucified by your side

Leaving me for dead

And leaving my soul open wide

So that Now I journey through middle earth with a demon as my guide

Hoping I have the strength to destroy the deviance I can no longer hide

Yet as I stand with the power to free myself from these chains that bind

I stop and quietly ask if there will be any me left without my lies

The liar in me

Wonders

If I ever truly knew the truth

Because at times I think I found the truth in you

Until I think I found the truth in her too

And suddenly faced with more than one version of the truth

im not sure what to do

the liar inside predicts the future

with a clairvoyance to rival Oedipus Rex

and so predicts calm seas along the journey

to where we’re headed next

the truthful side wants to warn the beauty that I see in you

not to believe the honest look in my eyes

but to tell you the truth would be to lose you

and is therefore unwise

for I would rather cut myself into a thousand pieces that you solemly

hold by your side

than see you walk away or break down and cry

from the pain of one of my lies

theres a humanity in me

that wants to keep the tears from your eyes

yet knows that it cant be done

until the liar in me finally dies

**

Now Playing: Pretty Brown Eyes – Mint Condition

Leave a Reply

