Pre March Madness

Posted: February 27, 2010 in Old Poetry, Poetry

I have dubbed March ‘March Madness Poetry Month’.

Not for everyone of course. Just for me because of my poetry spree which I will be going on.  But I want to release some things in advance of that as well to give people a preview of my work.  And how better to showcase the first poem posted to my new blog than to post my first poem?

Now, let me clarify. This is not the first poem I ever wrote. Not by a long shot. This is however, the oldest poem of mine that I can find. As far as I know anyway.  I believe that there are others that I wrote before this that I may still have, but this one is what sticks out in my memory as the first. Also, this one is special to me.  This poem is where it really began.  It’s as if before this poem I was simply dabbling in the realm of poetry and writing, but once I wrote this I knew that I was going to be a Poet and a Writer.  So without further ado, here it is.

Enjoy.

**

I am a writer

Black ink flows through my veins

From the countless days

Where my creativity flowed

Like the never ending rush

Of a river on the go

Taking my mind with it

Quickly and quietly

Soft by slow

To a deep dark darkness

Where the sun doesn’t show

And you can’t let go

Lest I be overtaken

By a mistaken identity

Of something that is not within me

Because inside I am a writer

My mission is not to impress but inspire

To light the candle of your desire

To express the repressed

Hidden feeling with their hidden meanings

And help you share your secret dreamings

About your nighttime fiening

For love and affection

Or a deep interjection from another soul into your own

Until your throat issues a low soft moan

And in your ear whispers a baritone

Saying he can take you home

To that heavenly place whose light

Shines on your face

And whose effect you cannot erase

Like the tablet from God to Moses

Written in stone

Not to be tampered with or altered at all

But left alone

Into the care of the fighter

The defender

The writer

I wield my pen in my hand

To lay down The laws of the land

I can split you apart from the start of

My rhyme till the last end line

And make your heartbeat fluctuate with the

Way I punctuate

Each noun and verb

Or any action word

I feel these lines deserve

And in time you’ll find it don’t get no better

U can’t get no wetter

Not if you jumped into the middle

Of the deep blue sea

And when you get to the bottom

And find that it gets no lighter

You’ll still need me

To impart the knowledge on thee

That these lines could be no tighter

Unless you found someone like me

Who is positive in the fact that he

Shares my identity in that

He is a writer

**

Now Playing: Lauryn Hill – Tell Him

Comments
  1. Nikayla says:

    aww i really like this one.. i had to re-read some parts cuz i got kinda confused and i jus liked how u phrased some things but it all made sense in the end =) …. ❤

Leave a Reply

